Monday, December 19, 2016

Call for Poems for "Poets Speak" Anthology Series

From writer and anthology editor John Roche.

Hi Friends!

 I have decided to start a series of mini-anthologies (each less than a hundred pages), in response to the national and planetary crisis provoked by the fraudulent election of 11/8/16. It will be called Poets Speak (while we still can), and will be co-published by Beatlick Press and Jules' Poetry Playhouse Publications. Noted Albuquerque artist Denise Weaver Ross has already designed striking covers for the series.

I envision these as rapid responses in the tradition of Medieval and Renaissance broadsides, Tom Paine's pamphlets, Walt Whitman's The 18th President and Democratic Vistas, Emanuel Haldeman-Julius's Blue Books, the IWW Songbook, the A.J. Muste Memorial pamphlet series, and Samizdat dissident publications from behind the Iron Curtain.

Here is a call for poems for the first five volumes. Note the short window for the first volume, "Trumped," which we hope to get out by the Inauguration, or shortly thereafter.

You may submit up to three poems, in one Word document, per volume, to

Please do not send poems longer than 60 lines. Please specify the specific volume you are applying to in the email header. Please include name, email, and mailing address, as well as 50-word bio.

Poems previously published in journals or on blogs, but not in other anthologies, will be considered, if you include citations.

Jan. 1 deadline
Volume 1: Trumped!
(How we got into this predicament)

February 1 deadline
 Volume 2: Equal Rights
Edited by Jules Nyquist
(Struggles for equal rights on the basis of gender, race, sexuality, national origin, abilities, etc.)

March 1 deadline
Volume 3: Water
(Protecting our life source)

April 1 deadline
Volume 4: Survival
(Surviving Trumplandia, physically, politically, emotionally, both as individuals and as communities)

May 1 deadline
 Volume 5: Borders
(Physical and abstract borders that divide us)

In order to finance this project, we are offering subscriptions: 
$60 will get you the first five volumes, including postage. Individual volumes will also be available at a discount to contributors.

Info on subscriptions here: Subscriptions

Jules and I, along with Beatlick editors Pamela Hirst and Deborah Coy, are eager to get started on the Poets Speak series, which we hope will provide another front in the principled resistance this moment in history demands, as well as a space for poets to come together, "while we still can."

John Roche

No comments: